IPL 2024, CSK Vs GT, New IPL Era: Shubman Gill & Ruturaj Gaikwad Named Captains

Spread Info.

IPL 2024, CSK vs. GT: Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad have been appointed as captains by CSK and Gujarat Titans respectively, marking a new era in the IP.

Source: Google [Image by ntvbharat]

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 finalists, Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans, will face off on Tuesday at the home field of the dominating champions, MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. In the opening match of the season, CSK defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 wickets to start their IPL 2024 campaign. In the meantime, GT won their season opener against the Mumbai Indians by a margin of 6 runs. It will be interesting to see who comes out on top today as both teams have had a strong start to the new campaign.

Emerging Leadership: Ruturaj Gaikwad vs. Shubman Gill

With Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad as their new captains, CSK and GT have new leaders. The news that Gaikwad would take over as captain in place of MS Dhoni was revealed the night before the season began. Hardik Pandya shocked everyone by joining MI before the auction last year, and Gill was named captain in the meantime.

All eyes will be on the two young captains, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill, as they play the role of a batter with the added responsibility of captaincy on their shoulders. This could turn into a mini-battle. After missing out on the batting opportunity in the first game against RCB, supporters of CSK would be hoping that ‘Thala’ would finally get a chance in the middle.


Past outcomes of  CSK & GT

Against RCB, CSK played an almost flawless game, chasing down roughly 170-odd runs, with each of their top six batters helping the team win. They were perfect with the ball as well, with the exception of the sixth-wicket partnership that emerged in the second half.

It’s noteworthy that Gaikwad has a solid IPL head-to-head record against Rashid Khan. In seven innings against Rashid, the CSK captain has hammered 95 runs off 60 balls at a 47.5 average and a 158.3 strike rate. In the franchise tournament, only Sanju Samson (111) has scored more runs than Gaikwad against Rashid. If Gaikwad is able to maintain his composure and avoid losing a wicket too soon, this could be a crucial encounter. Matheesha Pathirana of Sri Lanka has joined CSK’s team, but it’s unclear if he’s fully recovered from his hamstring injury. Thus, the expected leader of the pace attack will be Mustafizur Rahman, who claimed four wickets in his CSK debut in the season opener.

With outstanding death overs bowling against MI, the Titans pulled off a thrilling victory, and they will be eager to carry that momentum into every aspect of the game. Even though CSK has a strong batting lineup, GT has a strong bowling unit that has been strengthened even more with the addition of amazing swing bowler Azmatullah Omarzai. GT seamers have claimed 25 wickets in the Powerplay at an economy rate of 8.35 since the 2023 IPL. Omarzai claimed two wickets in GT’s victory over MI, both of them occurred during the powerplay.


CSK Vs GT Squads

Chennai Super Kings Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni (w), Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande, Shardul Thakur, Shaik Rasheed, Moeen Ali, Nishant Sindhu, Mitchell Santner, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Mukesh Choudhary, Simarjeet Singh, RS Hangargekar, Aravelly Avanish

Gujarat Titans Squad: Wriddhiman Saha (w), Shubman Gill (c), Sai Sudharsan, Azmatullah Omarzai, David Miller, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Umesh Yadav, and Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson, Mohit Sharma, Sharath BR, Abhinav Manohar, Noor Ahmad, Manav Suthar, Matthew Wade, Kane Williamson, Shahrukh Khan, Joshua Little, Darshan Nalkande, Kartik Tyagi, Sushant Mishra, Sandeep Warrier, and Jayant Yadav

GT vs CSK Probable Playing 11s

GT Probable XI: Shubman Gill (c), Wriddhiman Saha, Sai Sudharsan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, R Sai Kishore, Umesh Yadav, Spencer Johnson

CSK Probable XI: Rachin Ravindra, Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman

CSK vs GT: Head-to-head record

After five meetings, GT has a 3-2 head-to-head advantage over CSK. The last time they faced each other, CSK won in the IPL 2023 final.

CSK vs GT Match Details:

Match: IPL 2024, 7th T20 match

Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai

Date & Time: Tuesday, March 26 at 7:30 PM IST (Toss at 7:00 PM

Broadcast and Live Streaming: Star Sports, JioCinema Website and App

CSK vs GT Dream11 Captaincy picks:

Ruturaj Gaikwad: The new CSK skipper will be looking to lead from the front now that the pressure of leading in the first-ever IPL match is out of his way. In the previous game, Ruturaj scored 15 runs at a strike rate of 100 and appeared to be in good form while he was in the middle.

Shubman Gill: Leading for the first time in IPL, Gill looked for more composed and made good decisions on the field. He also looked good at the bat, hitting three fours and a six in his 31 runs off just 22 balls. Gill will be eager to turn a strong start into a significant setback, though.

IPL 2024 Match 7 probable predicted XIs:

CSK probable playing XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad (C), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni (WK), Deepak Chahar, Mahesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande

GT probable playing XI: Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Shubman Gill (C), Sai Sudharsan, Azmatullah Omarzai, David Miller, Vijay Shankar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Umesh Yadav, R Sai Kishore, Spencer Johnson, Mohit Sharma

4 thoughts on “IPL 2024, CSK Vs GT, New IPL Era: Shubman Gill & Ruturaj Gaikwad Named Captains

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *