WPL 2024 Final : Smriti Mandhana-Elise Perry’s RCB Created History, Defeated Delhi Capitals In The Final, 16 Years Of Wait Ended

Spread Info.

WPL 2024 Final: With this victory, RCB under the captaincy of Smriti Mandhana, created history. This is the first trophy in the 16-year history of the franchise. The men’s team has not been able to win a single title so far.

WPL 2024 Final Champions: RCB
WPL 2024 Final DC Vs RCB (Image By: RCB Twitter)

WPL 2024 Final, DC vs. RCB:

Winners of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) are Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). In the final match on March 17, it won over Delhi Capitals by eight wickets. With this victory, the RCB, led by Smriti Mandhana, made history. In the franchise’s sixteen-year history, this is its very first trophy. Thus far, the men’s team has not been able to claim a single title. The women’s team from Mandhana has broken their long year-long dryness. On the other side, the Delhi Capitals team has suffered a second straight loss in the final. The Mumbai Indians won the last time it was played. The Delhi franchise is currently trophy-free.

Delhi Capitals collapsed for 113 runs:

Shefali Verma was at the crease to support Delhi Capitals captain Meg Lanning as she opened the innings after winning the toss. They both gave the team a strong start and in just 7 overs, the team had collected 64 runs without losing a wicket. Then, in just four balls during the seventh over, Sophie Molineux dismissed Alice Capsey, Jemimah Rodriguez, and Shefali Verma. where the team scored 64 runs for 3 wickets as opposed to 64 runs for 0 wickets. After these losses, the Delhi team was unable to bounce back, and Shreyanka Patil, who claimed 4 wickets for 12 runs in 3.3 overs, finished the job. Lanning and Shefali were the only batsmen who could play for Delhi.

RCB did wonders:

After losing two wickets in 19.3 overs and scoring 115 runs, RCB won the match and the tournament. The bowlers for RCB were a major factor in their triumph. Sophie Molineux, Shreyanka Patil, and Asha Shobhana wreaked destruction on the Delhi batsmen. Following the bowlers, the team was led to victory by Smriti Mandhana, Ellyse Parry, and Sophie Devine, who all had outstanding batting performances.

Women’s RCB won the title for the first time:

Sophie Devine and Smriti Mandhana gave RCB a strong foundation. They shared a 49-run partnership for the first wicket. With 27 balls, Divine scored 32 runs. He made one six and five fours. Shikha Pandey gave out LBW to Divine. Mandhana and Elise Perry then assumed control of the innings. For the second wicket, they combined for 33 runs in 41 balls. Mandhana scored 31 runs off 39 balls before being out. He scored three fours. Richa scored 17 runs and Parry 35 runs, but Parry was still undefeated. Alice Parry and Richa Ghosh gave the victory from this point on.

RCB’s victory in the WPL 2024: Virat Kohli’s video call to Smriti Mandhana:

At Arun Jaitley Stadium, there was much emotion as RCB players and supporters celebrated. Smriti and her teammates looked happy as they celebrated the victory at Arun Jaitley Stadium, so receiving a video call from Virat was especially memorable.

The RCB captains discussed the importance of taking home the trophy for the team following the thrilling victory. “Perhaps it will take some time for the feeling to sink in,” Smriti remarked during the post-match presentation. Impossible for me to express myself freely. All I can say is that I’m proud of the group. We have experienced highs and lows, but they have kept going, and the way we crossed the line tonight was incredible.

“It is incredibly special for RCB as a team to win. This victory is undoubtedly among the top five, possibly. Nothing would top a World Cup victory. To all the RCB supporters, who are the most passionate, I have a message. Without their support, nothing could have happened. I simply want to say Ee Sala Cup Namdu right now because Ee Sala Cup Namde always comes up.”

Delhi had made an explosive start:

Prior to this, Shefali and Captain Lanning helped the Delhi Capitals get off to a great start. They combined for a first-wicket partnership of 64 runs in 43 balls. On the opening ball of the eighth over, Shefali was out. The team’s score at that point was 64 runs. The match changed after this.

Molineux overturned the match:

Molineux removed Shefali in eight overs and then claimed two more wickets. In the same over, he clean bowled Alice Capsey and Jemimah Rodrigues. The players were unable to access their accounts. From this point on, the Delhi team was under pressure and was unable to score significantly. Asha Shobhana and Shreyanka Patil profited from Molineux’s pressure. When combined, they caused chaos.

Shreyanka hunted Lanning:

For RCB, Shreyanka Patil was a huge success. On the fourth ball of the eleventh over, he removed Delhi captain Lanning from the game. Lanning scored 23 runs in 23 balls before being out LBW. Delhi suffered a double blow from Asha Shobhana. He sent Jess Jonassen (3) and Marijan Kapp (8) to the pavilion. Then, Minnu Mani (5), Arundhati Reddy (10), and Tania Bhatia (0) were dismissed by Shreyanka. After scoring 12 runs, Radha Yadav was run out, while Shikha Pandey continued to score after scoring 5 runs. For RCB, Shreyanka claimed a maximum of 4 wickets. Molineux had three victories. Asha Shobhana achieved two prevails.

One thought on “WPL 2024 Final : Smriti Mandhana-Elise Perry’s RCB Created History, Defeated Delhi Capitals In The Final, 16 Years Of Wait Ended

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *