Mohammad Amir And Imad Wasim Are Back To Boost Pakistan’s Squad For T20I Series Against New Zealand

Source: Google [Image by Free Press Journal]

Spread Info.

Pakistan recently announced its team for New Zealand’s five T20Is, which includes Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim, given chances to emerging players from PSL and also made changes to its backroom workforce.

Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim Are Back to Boost Pakistan's Squad for T20I Series Against New Zealand
Source: Google [Image by Free Press Journal]

Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim have been called up for the first time since 2020 and 2023, respectively, as Pakistan confirmed their team for the five-T20I series against New Zealand later this month.

Pakistan has named its first team since the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) appointed a selection committee without a top selector. Usman Khan, who just switched allegiances from the UAE to Pakistan, is among the squad members. Fakhar Zaman, who had struggled in the Pakistan Super League, has been retained. The squad is the first since the Pakistan Super League, and their efforts in that event have been recognized. Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Abrar Ahmed, and Irfan Khan have all received their first call-ups.

Usman Khan, who was named Emerging Player of the Tournament, expressed his delight at being picked to represent his country and his determination to maintain high standards.

The Captain has Retaken Command

This is also the first series in which Babar Azam has reclaimed the captaincy of Pakistan’s white-ball team following a controversial procedure in which the PCB freed Shaheen Shah Afridi of the captaincy after only one series. Afridi is in the team, while his fast bowling partner Naseem Shah has returned to a Pakistan squad for the first time since September 2023, after missing many months due to a long-term injury.

Return of the Masters

The selector, Wahab Riaz, noted that the pick of Imad Wasim and Mohammad Amir was based on their availability, Haris Rauf’s injury, and Mohammad Nawaz’s current form, both of whom are known for their match-winning qualities.

Some important adjustments to the backroom staff

The series against New Zealand has resulted in various changes among the backroom personnel. Azhar Mahmood has been appointed head coach, quitting his position as Surrey assistant coach. Wahab will also be the “senior team manager,” working alongside Mansoor Rana. Mohammad Yousuf has been named batting coach, while Saeed Ajmal continues as spin bowling coach.

New Zealand landed in Pakistan on April 14 and will play five T20Is at Rawalpindi and Lahore between April 18 and 27.

Pakistan’s Squad 

The captain of the team is Babar Azam, along with Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Muhammad Abbas Afridi, Muhammad Rizwan, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Irfan Niazi, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usama Mir, Usman Khan, and Zaman Khan.

Exit mobile version